Malinga makes a comeback as sri lanka cricket board announced 16 members squad for asia cup


Sri Lanka’s veteran fast bowler Lasith Malinga has been named in the 16-part squad for the up and coming Asia Cup. Niroshan Dickwella, Lahiru Kumara, Prabath Jayasuriya and Shehan Jayasuriya, who all participated in the ODI home series against South Africa, have been excluded.

Malinga last showed up for the Island country back in September 2017 against India. Knee damage, trailed by wellness issues constrained the 35-year-old out of activity for a year. Sri Lanka have been battling in the 50-over organization, winning only 2 of their last 12 series.

Dinesh Chandimal, who was overlooked for the South Africa series following his six-match boycott, has been reviewed to the squad. Another notable incorporation is that of Danushka Gunathilaka. The assaulting opening batsman will make a rebound in the wake of serving his six-match suspension for breaking the ‘Player Code of Conduct and Contractual Obligation’.

The tournament starts on September 15, with Sri Lanka going up against Bangladesh in Dubai.

SQUAD OF SRI LANKA : Angelo Mathews(c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Akila Dananjaya, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponso, Kasun Rajitha, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lasith Malinga

stay tuned with crictrick for more updates and news.

REACH US ON FACEBOOK @crictrickofficial.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *